Death & Dying

Showing 1–16 of 233 results

Title & Subtitle Contents Contributors Pages Year Purchase
NEW!

Almost Beauty

New and Selected Poems

Sue Sinclair has been praised for her "crisp, lyrical poems imbued with subtle, subtextual philosophic musings" (Globe and Mail). She has been described as a poet who "writes her … 224 View

Autobiographical Fictions

As much poet as paparazzo, Maurice Mierau fixes his sights on the complexities of popular culture. Autobiographical Fictions is both questioning and confident, a book that explores delusion as a … 72 View

Be Scared of Everything

Horror Essays

Horror essays that read like Chuck Klosterman filtered through H. P. Lovecraft. Slinging ectoplasm, tombstones, and chainsaws with aplomb, Be Scared of Everything is a frighteningly smart … 202 View
NEW!

Ceaseless Rain

Ceaseless Rain is a meditation on grief. It is a carnival ride where the floor drops out, it is a ghost apple, it is the bones left in the birdbath by crows. This is where the redemptive power of … 64 View

Correspondent

An on-the-scene report of a childhood abroad. A child’s vision of real-world events made real (and unreal) by the presence of his father. Memories of snow falling on Quebec City’s … 96 View
NEW!

Democratically Applied Machine

Robert Colman’s third book of poetry, Democratically Applied Machine, is a back-to-basics approach to creation. In poems that inhabit both industrial and domestic landscapes, Colman traces … 80 View

Dust or Fire

Is this life a route or a destination? Alyda Faber’s assured début examines the ties that bind us to one another and to the Earth we inhabit, and asks the question, What is left of us … 112 View
NEW!

God Isn’t Here Today

For fans of Chuck Palahniuk, Joyce Carol Oates, and Karen Russell, the stories in Francine Cunningham’s debut collection God Isn’t Here Today ricochet between form and genre, taking … 249 View
NEW!

Grey All Over

Late in the evening of December 13, 2007, Andrea Actis found her father, Jeff, facedown dead in her East Vancouver apartment. So began her passage through grief, self-reckoning, and graduate … 176 View
NEW!

Hell Light Flesh

In her second collection of poetry, Hell Light Flesh, Klara du Plessis returns with a Dantesque trilogy on family, punishment, and the ferocity and brilliance of creation. Hell Light Flesh drops … 120 View

High Water Mark

High-Water Mark is Bronwen Wallace Award–winner Nicole Dixon’s smart and sexy debut. These ten tightly written stories focus on contemporary women learning what they want from sex, … 156 View
NEW!

Hsin

22 Debut Canadian poetry collections to read, CBC 2022 Nanci Lee’s debut explores 4th Century Su Hui’s palindrome of longing. Hsin arises from an ancient Chinese ethical philosophy, … 88 View
NEW!

Humanimus

poems

David Huebert’s Humanimus presents a world of soiled nature, of compromised ecology, of toxic transcendence. Raising environmental precarity to the level of mythos, this book implicates … 104 View
NEW!

Is This Scary?

Poems

Pushing back against societal stigma, Is This Scary? unflinchingly addresses experiences of psychiatric institutionalization and suicidality, without either romanticizing or pathologizing them. … 88 View

Knife Party at the Hotel Europa

Shortlisted, Alistair MacLeod Award for Short Fiction, New Brunswick Book Award for Fiction, and Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award One of Canada’s literary treasures, Mark Anthony … 288 View
NEW!

Lunar Tides

Poems

Expansive and enveloping, Webb-Campbell’s collection asks, “Who am I in relation to the moon?” These poems explore the primordial connections between love, grief, and water, … 96 View