Indigenous Authors

Showing 1–16 of 310 results

Title & Subtitle Contents Contributors Pages Year Purchase

As Long as the Sun Shines

As Long as the Sun Shines creatively reveals the beautiful and bitter essences of the world from a distinctive Indigenous female voice. Inspired by her recent global travels, experiences, … 118 View

At Bay Press Fiction Annual

Dreams and Nightmares

Anthology of fiction stories, short graphic novels, art, and photography with a theme of "Dreams and Nightmares." 58 View
NEW!

awâsis – kinky and dishevelled

There are no pronouns in Cree for gender; awâsis (which means illuminated child) reveals herself through shapeshifting, adopting different genders, exploring the English language with … 88 View
NEW!

Bear Bones & Feathers

In this new edition of her powerful debut, Plains Cree writer and National Poet Laureate Louise B. Halfe – Sky Dancer reckons with personal history within cultural genocide. Employing … 144 View

Bi-gishkoziitwin biidaanzhed biidaabang

Bi-gishkoziitwin Biidaanzhed Biidaabang, an Ojibwa translation of Rising with a Distant Dawn, is a powerful and moving poetry collection which stretches across the boundaries of skin colour, … 80 View
NEW!

Blood

Conceived in the same world as their acclaimed debut, Bones, Tyler Pennock’s Blood centres around a protagonist who at first has difficulty knowing the difference between connection and … 128 View
NEW!

Buffalo is the New Buffalo

Stories

Powerful stories of "Metis futurism" that envision a world without violence, capitalism, or colonization. "Education is the new buffalo" is a metaphor widely used among … 347 View
NEW!

Burning in This Midnight Dream

Many of the poems in Louise Halfe’s Burning in This Midnight Dream were written in response to the grim tide of emotions, memories, dreams and nightmares that arose in her as the Truth and … 104 View

calling down the sky

Calling Down the Sky is a poetry collection that describes deep personal experiences and post-generational effects of the Canadian Aboriginal Residential School confinements in the 1960’s … 80 View

day/break

day/break, poet Gwen Benaway’s fourth collection of work, explores the everyday poetics of the trans feminine body. Through intimate experiences and conceptualizations of trans life, … 103 View

Devil in the Woods

D.A. Lockhart’s stunning and subversive fourth collection gives us the words, thoughts, and experiences of an Anishinaabe guy from Central Ontario and the manner in which he interacts with … 80 View
NEW!

Disabled Voices

Anthology

Written and illustrated by the Disabled community about the Disabled community, Disabled Voices is an international anthology collection of short stories (both fiction and non-fiction), personal … 128 View

Disintegrate/Dissociate

In her powerful debut collection of poetry, Arielle Twist unravels the complexities of human relationships after death and metamorphosis. In these spare yet powerful poems, she explores, with … 70 View
NEW!

God Isn’t Here Today

For fans of Chuck Palahniuk, Joyce Carol Oates, and Karen Russell, the stories in Francine Cunningham’s debut collection God Isn’t Here Today ricochet between form and genre, taking … 249 View

Hear and Foretell

Hear and Foretell is a compelling poetry collection with a spotlight on urban Aboriginal life in Canada. The poems illustrate deep spiritual transformations and understandings of the ever-present … 96 View

Holy Wild

In her third collection of poetry, Holy Wild, Gwen Benaway explores the complexities of being an Indigenous trans woman in expansive lyric poems. She holds up the Indigenous trans body as a … 144 View