Publication Year

ISBN: 9781990293306-13

Categories: , ,




From: A Friend Sails in on a Poem


The afterward from Phillis Levin.



Phillis Levin

Phillis Levin is the author of five collections, most recently, Mr. Memory & Other Poems (Penguin Books, 2016), a finalist for the 2016 Los Angeles Times Book Prize. Her other volumes are May Day (Penguin Books, 2008), Mercury (Penguin Books, 2001), The Afterimage (Copper Beech Press, 1995), and Temples and Fields (University of Georgia Press, 1988). She is the editor of The Penguin Book of the Sonnet (Penguin USA, 2001; Allen Lane/The Penguin Press, 2001). Her honors include the Poetry Society of America’s Norma Farber First Book Award, a Fulbright Scholar Award to Slovenia, the Amy Lowell Poetry Travelling Scholarship, and fellowships from the Ingram Merrill Foundation, the Guggenheim Foundation, the Bogliasco Foundation, and the National Endowment for the Arts. Her poems have appeared in AGNI, The Atlantic, The Best American Poetry, Kenyon Review, The Nation, New Republic, The New Yorker, The New York Times Sunday Magazine, The Paris Review, Ploughshare, Plume, PN Review, Poetry, Poetry London, The Poetry Review (UK), The Yale Review, and other publications. A professor of English and poet-in-residence at Hofstra University, Levin lives with her husband in New York City and in West Cornwall, Connecticut. She has completed a sixth collection and is working on a memoir.